Is There More Than One Way that Police Can Charge a Person After Driving Under the Influence?

In the state of Maryland, there are multiple charges associated with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Many people assume DWIs and DUIs are the same thing, and while they are similar, there are a few key distinctions you should be aware of if you have been charged with either crime.

What is a DWI?

DWI, or driving while impaired, is the less serious of Maryland’s two drinking and driving offenses. DWI charges are given to those who drive with a blood alcohol concentration level detected between .07% and .08%. However, an individual could still be charged with DWI despite testing just below the legal limit assuming they exhibited unsafe and unpredictable driving.

Maryland DWI Consequences

DWI punishments aren’t as serious as DUI punishments, but it is still a misdemeanor crime that should be avoided or reduced with the help of an attorney. At maximum, DWI offenders can expect a fine of $500, 60 days of jail time, and 8 penalty points added to their driving record.

What is a DUI?

A DUI, stands for driving under the influence. This could mean driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. The drugs could be over-the-counter, prescription or illegal. Naturally, DUI charges are the more serious drinking and driving charge in Maryland. The key distinction between DUI and DWI charges is that DUIs are given to drivers who test above a blood alcohol concentration level of .08%. Because it is the more serious offense, it typically involves more serious consequences.

Maryland DUI Consequences

First time DUI offenders can be subject to steep punishment, and the consequences only ramp up for second- and third-time offenders. First time offenders may be required to pay a fine not exceeding $1,000 and may be subject to a year of jail time depending on the specifics of the case. That fine increases to $2,000 and $3,000 for second- and third-time offenders respectively, with a potential additional year of jail time for each additional offense. A DUI in the state of Maryland will also come with 12 penalty points administered to the driver’s record.

Contact Mobley & Brown, LLP for Help Fighting Your Driving Under the Influence Case

If you are searching for the right DUI or DWI defense attorney in Maryland and unsure where to turn, contact Mobley and Brown, LLP today. We are committed to using our experience along with facts from your specific case in order to achieve the result you deserve.   Our experienced legal team is looking forward to working with you to meet your needs. Call us now at (410) 385-0398.